Smartphones: What We’ve Gained

Stephen Hackett, 512 Pixels:

Not having an iPhone was also stressful at home. I missed what would have been fun photos or videos of the kids because my Canon was in my bag in the car, and got lost while out of town without Internet-connected maps. Not having iMessage in my pocket made keeping up with friends and family more difficult.

Hackett says that his “iPhoneless” experiment has helped him to rely on the iPhone as more of a tool, and less of a reason to ignore those around him.

Now most people would agree that while using your smartphone when you’re around people isn’t the best display of etiquette, particularly when you’re in a conversation (though I’m sure cases could be made in some situations). But people who complain about smartphones and technology tend to forget just how much good technology has brought, how much easier it has made life. All the things Hackett mentions above are things I use my smartphone for regularly; I use it to check bus routes and schedules, I use it to keep in touch with people through Twitter, Facebook and iMessage, and it’s a camera and camcorder that goes with me everywhere so I can capture great moments. Without it, I would get a lot more lost, I wouldn’t be able to maintain connections (particularly with people overseas), and a lot of memorable moments would go unchronicled.

