Sandwich Adventures: Peanut Butter and Pickle Sandwich

Dwight Garner, New York Times:

LIKE Krazy and Ignatz, Carville and Matalin, Cupid and Psyche or Alison Krauss and Robert Plant, the peanut butter and pickle sandwich is one of those unlikely pairings that shouldn’t work, but does.

That’s how I’ve always felt, anyway. I’ve been happily eating these distinctive little sandwiches for years. The vinegary snap of chilled pickle cuts, like a dash of irony, against the stoic unctuousness of peanut butter. The sandwich is a thrifty and unacknowledged American classic.

After reading this article I decided I had to give this a try. So off to the supermarket to find some nice ‘bread and butter chips’ (a sweeter variety of pickle). An hour later I was back in my room with some wholemeal bread, peanut butter (crunchy) and a rather large green jar of pickles floating in briny juice. I had also recruited a friend and after describing the concoction to her, she opted to take the plunge with me and I made two PB&P sandwiches. Plenty of peanut butter, and as many pickle slices as would fit side-by-side on a slice of bread.

Verdict? It’s not bad at all. I can’t say I’m as gushy about it as the article’s author, but I’ve just had my second PB&P sandwich and I can still see eating another next time.

If you’re not an adventurous eater or just plain hate pickles, the PB&P probably isn’t for you. Otherwise, give it a try. You might discover something you never expected to enjoy.

