Staying Connected Isn’t “Being Anti-Social”

MG Siegler:

Let me pre-empt the “you need to live life” type lectures by saying that, of course I want to enjoy the scenery and the company of others. But I want to be connected when I do that. I want to be able to tweet and send pictures instantly to friends and family. I want to be able to check in on Foursquare to log where I’ve been and create lists of great places for others to enjoy. And I want to get recommendations for places to eat and see from the plethora of apps out there that are great at just that.

Being connected adds to my experience while traveling, it doesn’t take away from it. You can have a different opinion, but that’s the way I feel. And that’s why I want to be connected when doing it.

Twitter, Facebook, Instagram. All apps I use frequently when I travel, or when I’m simply out and about. I am not being anti-social when I use them. In fact, I’m being more social; I’m including others who are not there in that moment.

Leave a Reply

