Why Alphas Is Better Than Heroes

Corrina Lawson, Wired.com:

I had no interest in Alphas at first. I’d been burned badly on Heroes with its never-ending loop of returning characters to the same place and plot arcs that didn’t pay off and dropped storylines. I concluded television just didn’t know how to do superheroes right and, besides, Alphas was on the Syfy Channel, not exactly known for high-quality shows.

But when I was flipping channels, I caught a tense scene between David Strathairn and someone holding him at knifepoint. I thought, “this looks very good.” I DVR’d all the episodes, started watching and realized that while Heroes had gone in the wrong direction after a promising first season, Alphas was already better than its predecessor had ever been.

Even when my friends proclaimed Heroes had jumped the shark, I still had a soft spot for it and wanted it to succeed. But it just went downhill and fizzled out.

Alphas is quite refreshing and gives the hero formula a healthy dose of reality. Nine episodes in, it just keeps getting better. Here’s hoping they keep up the pace.

Leave a Reply

